## Summarized for IBAI Member



Tuesday, 29th March 2022

**INFORMATION** 

New Rules for Free Visit Visa to 9 Countries and the List of 25 countries for Visa on Arrival for Tourism in the Riau Islands

The Directorate General of Immigration, Ministry of Law and Human Rights has issued Circular Letter (SE) No. IMI-0533.GR.01.01 concerning the Ease of Immigration in Order to Support Sustainable Tourism in Batam and Bintan Areas during the COVID-19 Pandemic Period on **Monday, March 21**<sup>st</sup>, **2022**. The issuance of this circular letter rules for granting special tourist visa-free visits to 9 countries and Visa on Arrival (VoA) for 25 countries. The government decided that visa-free visits to 9 countries and the 25 countries listed on the list can obtain a Visa on Arrival in Batam, Bintan and Tanjungpinang which will be effective from March 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2022.

For foreign tourists visiting Batam, Bintan, and Tanjungpinang, the exemption of special visit visas and VoA is granted for a limited time. The regulation is contained in Circular Number IMI-0533.GR.01.01 of 2022 concerning the Ease of Immigration in Order to Support Sustainable Tourism in Batam and Bintan Areas during the COVID-19 Pandemic Period. This policy applies to Indonesian citizens, transportation crews, foreigners holding diplomatic passports or service passports who are granted Diplomatic Visa Free or Service Visa Free facilities, foreigners holding Visas or Stay Permits, and foreigners holding APEC KPP in accordance with the provisions of the laws and regulations.

In the Circular, visa special tourist visits and VoA are given to foreign tourists who enter through: Nongsa Immigration Checkpoint, Batam Maritime Terminal, Batam Center Immigration Checkpoint, Sekupang Immigration Checkpoints, Citra Tri Tunas Immigration Checkpoint, Marina Bay Marina Immigration Checkpoint, Bandar Bentan Telani Lagoi Immigration Checkpoint, Bandar Seri Udana Lobam Immigration Checkpoint, and Sri Bintan Pura Immigration Checkpoint.

The 9 (nine) countries are given a stay permit for a maximum of 14 days and cannot be extended are Brunei Darussalam, the Philippines, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. The tourist from 25 (twenty five) countries which has been mentioned in the and Circular Letter No. IMI-0533.GR.01.01 are granted Visa on Arrival facilities and a 30-day visit stay permit and can be extended once.

The requirements that must be prepared to get the tourist visa and VoA are:

- A passport that is valid for at least six months;
- A return ticket or pass that will allow you to continue your journey to another country;
- Proof of health insurance ownership;
- Proof of accommodation confirmation; and
- Except for Singapore citizens, permanent residents of Singapore.

The applicable rate for a Visit Visa on Arrival Special for Tourism is the rate for a Visit Visa on Arrival as referred to in the Attachment to Government Regulation Number 28 Year 2019 concerning Types and Tariffs for Types of Non-Tax State Revenues Applicable to the Ministry of Law and Human Rights, which is IDR. 500,000.

For your reference, please check the Immigration Press Conference about the New Rules for Free Visit Visa and VoA for Tourism in the Riau Islands in the link <a href="here">here</a> and Circular Letter No. IMI-0533.GR.01.01 in Bahasa Indonesia and Unofficial English translation in the link <a href="here">here</a>.

## **Italian Business Association in Indonesia (IBAI)**

c/o Istituto Italiano di Cultura Jakarta Jl. HOS Cokroaminoto No. 117 Menteng Jakarta 10310 INDONESIA P: +6281 1979 4262 E: ibai@ibai.or.id







